Creating projects for your users is the first step to securely managing the review and approval process. Within Shift, projects are folder trees where your assets live.

If a user is not assigned to a project, it will appear invisible to them. Only users who are assigned to a project can access it.

Create a Project

1. On the main Projects page, click the "New Project" button in the top-right corner of the page.

2. Then, name your new project.

Project Thumbnail and Home Page

Users are able to set custom thumbnails and home page images for all their Shift projects. First, right-click a project tile, and select Edit Settings. Click "Upload New" on either "Set Project Thumbnail" or "Set Project Home Image."

You will then be able to choose an image from your machine to upload to your Shift project. Once you upload an image, click "Save" to save your changes.

Add Information about the Project

In the "Settings" tab, you can also enter more information about your project. Edit the project's name, description, and customization images.

Organize your project with subfolders

Upload folders by dragging and dropping them from your desktop to the app, which will replicate the folder structure and upload the assets to Shift.

You can also upload folders by clicking the "Upload Files" button and selecting "Upload Folder."

Cloning projects

You can clone a project by right-clicking the project tile, or by clicking the three-dots menu in the top-right corner of the tile. The dropdown menu includes the option to "clone" the project.

Upon clicking the "clone" option, you will be taken to another menu where you have the options to create a title and description for the project clone. This window also features options for cloning the project structure, including subfolders, cloning the users assigned to the project, and cloning the project's watermark settings.

Delete projects

You can delete a project by right-clicking the project tile, or by clicking the three dots in the top-right corner of the tile. Then, select "Delete." You will be prompted to confirm this action. Once a project is deleted, it cannot be undone.

Lifecycle Policies

Shift allows Administrators and Project Owners to set up policies that will permanently delete all the assets in their project once they reach a specified age.

For example, if a user enforces a Lifecycle Policy for a project for 2 months, all the assets in that project will be deleted once they reach an age of 2 months old.

Please keep in mind, the Lifecycle Policy will be enforced on assets depending on the time the files were uploaded, not from the time the policy was turned on. This means, with a Lifecycle Policy of 2 months, any files created/uploaded more than 2 months prior will be immediately deleted.

To set up a Lifecycle Policy for a project in your Shift account, navigate to your Projects page, click the three-dots menu in a project title, and select Edit Settings. In the Settings tab, select Policies from the left-hand column.

Project Paginator

While switching between the "Team" and "Settings" Tab in a project, Shift will return you to your exact page and scroll position once you return to the "Files" tab you were viewing.

Project Tree Search & Sort

By opening the left-side drawer in Projects, you can search and sort through an entire list of the projects in your workspace.

To sort projects, select the "Sort" icon next to the search field. Here, you can sort projects by date created, date uploaded, and title.

Did this answer your question?