Every user has a Type, which controls their ability to manage other users on the workspace.

In order for a user to access a project within a given workspace, they must be assigned a role on that project. If a user is not assigned to that project, they will not know that the project exists.

Roles are custom permissions templates created by the Administrator which govern the user's access on that project. Users can have different roles on different projects.

User Type: Account Level Permissions

  • Administrator - An Administrator has unlimited permission and is automatically added as a Project Owner of every project on the workspace. Only an Administrator may add and remove users on the workspace.

  • Manager - A Manager has the permission of a Standard User, plus the ability to create new projects on the workspace. Note that once a Manager creates a project, they will automatically become the Project Owner of that project.

  • User - A User cannot create new projects. This type of user is limited to roles explicitly granted by a Project Owner. These include any default or custom roles.

Roles: Project Level Permissions

  • Project Owner - The user that creates a project is the Project Owner. Additionally, an Administrator is a Project Owner for every project on the workspace. The Project Owner role cannot be modified or deleted. A Project Owner is granted every project-level permission. Only a Project Owner may delete a project, modify watermark settings, invite users to a project, or modify a user's role within a project. Projects may have multiple project owners.

  • Custom Roles - An Administrator may create new user roles with custom permission selections for use within a specific workspace. Custom roles can be created in the Role Editor found in the Administration page.

  • Default Roles - These are pre-made roles that come with every workspace and are based on industry needs. These roles may be modified or deleted by an Administrator on the workspace to meet your specific needs. These roles include: Uploader - An uploader can view and create new assets; Asset Manager - An asset manager can create, view, edit, delete and share assets internally; Internal Collaborator - An internal collaborator can view, edit and share assets internally; Public Collaborator - A public collaborator can create, view, edit, download, and share assets.

Creating Custom Roles

To create a custom role, go to Administration > Roles > Add Role.

You will then be able to create unique roles. Every account comes preloaded with 5 default roles based on common usage paths we have seen. However, you are free to create your own.

When you wish to delete a role in Shift, go to the Roles tab in Administration, and on the role you wish to delete, click the three dots. This will open a drop down menu where you can choose "Delete Role."

When you click "Delete Role," you will be prompted with an additional question asking if you are sure you want to delete the role. Click "OK" and you will be brought to the Delete Role Modal. Here, you can assign a different role to users with the role you wish to delete.


How to Add Users

Only Project Owners and Administrators can add users to the workspace or assign them roles.

To add users, select the project where you want to add users. In the left column of the Team tab, you can enter users' email addresses and assign them roles.

Administrators can also add users to multiple projects simultaneously as seen below.

This same menu can be used to bulk-edit users' roles on projects.

User Status

All users are considered Active unless an Administrator sets them to Inactive. Inactive users' information is stored in the system, but they are unable to log in. This is a particularly handy status for users whose project has wrapped but with whom you intend to work again in the future.

Inactive users do not count towards your contract's user limit.

Administrators can bulk-edit users' status from the Actions Menu:

User Tags

Tagging users allows your Project Owners to easily bulk-add massive numbers of users to a project, and creates an internal distribution list ("tag") that can be entered instead of all users' names when sharing files. This is also set through the Actions Menu.

Deleting Users

You can delete users by clicking the three-dots menu on the right and selecting "Remove User," or by selecting multiple users and choosing "Delete users" from the Actions Menu.

Did this answer your question?